Current Students

Industrial Hygiene Occupational Epidemiology Occupational Health Nursing
 
Occupational Safety Engineering and Ergonomics Interdisciplinary Research Training

Industrial Hygiene

 

Four-Columns

Name
Degree Sought
Research / Professional Interests
Student Photo Blank
Abebe, Yonas
abebeyon@umich.edu
MPH
Expected Graduation: April 2018
Industrial Hygiene
Blatti, Courtney
cblatti@umich.edu
MPH
Expected Graduation: April 2017
Occupational Health (Industrial Hygiene) and Safety
Sandar Bregg
Bregg, Sandar
breggs@umich.edu
MS
Expected Graduation: May 2018
Industrial Hygiene, Occupational Noise Exposure, Indoor Air Quality
Student Photo Blank
MS
Expected Graduation: April 2017
Industrial Hygiene
Student Photo Blank
Fuller, Emily
eafuller@umich.edu
MS
I aspire to work with an international company, to provide quality public health education and services to improve both psychical and mental wellness to underserved populations.
Student Photo Blank
Galen, Katherine
katgalen@umich.edu
MPH
Expected Graduation: May 2018
Industrial Hygiene
Glaser, Malkah
mglaser@umich.edu
MS
Expected Graduation: April 2017
Industrial Hygiene
Goddard, Mary-Catherine
goddarmc@umich.edu
MPH
Expected Graduation: April 2017
Combining Industrial Hygiene with working among the Spanish-speaking communities within the United States and abroad
Andrea Guytingco
Guytingco, Andrea
andrelyn@umich.edu
MPH
Expected Graduation: May 2018
Industrial Hygiene and Global Occupational Health
Kokx, Lauren
kokxl@umich.edu
MPH
Expected Graduation: April 2017
Industrial hygiene, Exposure Assessment and Worker Education
Langeland, Aubrey
aubreyll@umich.edu
PhD
Expected Graduation: May 2019
Occupational Health, Informal Economies, and Environmental Epidemiology
Student Photo Blank
MS
Expected Graduation: May 2018
Industrial Hygiene
Manning, Michael
mamannin@umich.edu
MPH
Expected Graduation: April 2017
Industrial Hygiene and Exposure Assessment
Chad Milando
Milando, Chad
cmilando@umich.edu
PhD
Expected Graduation: May 2018
Modeling exposure to air pollutants
Student Photo Blank
Moore, Benjamin
mooreben@umich.edu
MPH
Expected Graduation: May 2018
Industrial Hygiene, Obtaining CIH & CSP Certifications
Neuenfeldt, Rachel
rneuen@umich.edu
MPH
Expected Graduation: April 2017
Using Industrial Hygiene to expand and enhance labor policies for environmental exposures
Student Photo Blank
O’Connell, Allyson
oconally@umich.edu
MPH
Expected Graduation: May 2018
Industrial Hygiene
Student Photo Blank
MPH
Expected Graduation: May 2018
Industrial Hygiene
Student Photo Blank
Oliveri, Anthony
oliveri@umich.edu
MPH
Expected Graduation: May 2018
Industrial Hygiene, Exposure Assessment, Risk Management, Communication
Student Photo Blank
Pandit, Ritu
panditr@umich.edu
MPH
Expected Graduation: April 2017
Industrial Hygiene
Ben Roberts
Roberts, Benjamin
bjrobe@umich.edu
PhD
Expected Graduation: April 2017
Improving our ability to quantify occupational noise and predict hearing loss among workers
Sun, Peiyan
peiyan@umich.edu
MPH
Expected Graduation: April 2017
Industrial Hygiene; Exposure Science in the workplace for vulnerble populations
Swain, Sydney
smswain@umich.edu
MPH
Expected Graduation: April 2017
Industrial Hygiene
Student Photo Blank
Tarpey, Taylor
tatarpey@umich.edu
MPH
Expected Graduation: May 2018
Industrial Hygiene, Safety and Health of Disadvantaged Workers, Exposure Assessment
Student Photo Blank
Zervoudakis, Emmanuel
ezervo@umich.edu
MPH
Expected Graduation: May 2018
Industrial Hygiene, Exposure Assessment and Mitigation, Risk Analysis and Management
Changhua Zhan
Zhan, Changhua (Henry)
henryzch@umich.edu
PhD
Expected Graduation: August 2019
Microsystem Technology for On-Site Biologcal Monitoring of Occupational VOC Exposures

Occupational Epidemiology

 

Name
Degree Sought
Research / Professional Interests
Max_Aung_Headshot
Aung, Tun (Max)
maxaung@umich.edu
PhD
Expected Graduation:
Environmental Epidemiology, reproductive and developmental health effects related to endocrine disruptors, and human health risk and disease modeling
Student Photo Blank
Bedrosian, Leah
ldbedro@umich.edu
MPH
Expected Graduation: May 2018
Environmental Epidemiology, Maternal and Child Health, and Risk Assessment
Bowman, Alison
alibow@umich.edu
MPH
Occupational and Environmental Epidemiology
Student Photo Blank
Katrina Burns
Burns, Katrina
bkatrina@umich.edu
PhD
Identifying upstream factors that lead to potential hazards in high risk work environments. Building an effective workplace safety culture that protects the worker, the community and the science.
Student Photo Blank
Carrothers, Jessi
carrothj@umich.edu
PhD
Occupational and Environmental Epidemiology
Student Photo Blank
Cathey, Amber
acathey@umich.edu
MPH
Expected Graduation: April 2017
Occupational and Environmental Epidemiology
Christensen, Grace
gmchris@umich.edu
MPH
Expected Graduation: April 2017
Occupational and Environmental Epidemiology, and the effects of climate change on health and disease patterns
Student Photo Blank
Cardoza, Jacqueline
jcardoza@umich.edu
MPH
Expected Graduation: May 2018
Occupational and Environmental Epidemiology
Student Photo Blank
Defever, Kali
kalidef@umich.edu
MPH
Expected Graduation: May 2018
Environmental exposures and their effects on cancer and other chronic diseases
Student Photo Blank
PhD
Occupational and Environmental Epidemiology
Student Photo Blank
Filigrana Villegas, Paola
paofilig@umich.edu
PhD
Occupational and Environmental Epidemiology
Kim, Douglas
dougjkim@umich.edu
MPH
Expected Graduation: April 2017
Occupational and Environmental Epidemiology, Effects of Climate Change on Health, Air and Water Pollutants
Laskaris, Zoey
laskaris@umich.edu
PhD
Expected Graduation: May 2019
Mental and cardiovascular health of World Trade Center rescue and recovery workers; Occupational Health and Safety in the informal sector, particularly among electronic waste recycle workers in Ghana
Sarah Lyon-Callo
Lyon-Callo, Sarah
slyonca@umich.edu
PhD
Expected Graduation: May 2016
Environmental, Social and Chronic Disease Epidemiology, Maternal and Child Health, Secondhand Smoke, Asthma
Maina, Patricia
pmaina@umich.edu
MPH
Expected Graduation: April 2017
Air pollution and water quality as it pertains to health outcomes and overall life experiences of members of underserved communities
Martenies, Sheena
smarten@umich.edu
PhD
Expected Graduation: May 2018
Ambient Air Pollution, Air Quality Management, and Health Impact Assessment
Student Photo Blank
Mills, Stephanie
stmills@umich.edu
MPH
Expected Graduation: April 2017
Occupational and Environmental Epidemiology
Student Photo Blank
Pedde, Meredith
mpedde@umich.edu
PhD
Occupational and Environmental Epidemiology
Student Photo Blank
Schoonover, Amanda
ajschoon@umich.edu
MPH
Expected Graduation: May 2018
Occupational and Environmental Epidemiology
Student Photo Blank
Seith, Rita
seith@umich.edu
MPH
Expected Graduation: April 2017
My research involves the health of workers doing electronic waste recycling in Northeast Thailand, with a focus on heavy metal exposure.
Student Photo Blank
Silver, Monica
mksilver@umich.edu
PhD
Expected Graduation: April 2017
Environmental Epidemiology, Pesticides, Heavy Metals, Neurodevelopment, and Nutrient-Toxicant Interactions
Student Photo Blank
Smith, Lauren
laumarie@umich.edu
MPH
Expected Graduation: May 2018
Effects of climate change on public health, mainly in the context of food security and water quality, both domestically and internationally
Student Photo Blank
Sullivan, Taylor
taysull@umich.edu
MPH
Expected Graduation:
December 2018
Preventable environmental determinants of infectious and chronic diseases, occupational exposures in the informal sector
Student Photo Blank
Wang, Weiye
weiyew@umich.edu
PhD
Occupational and Environmental Epidemiology
Student Photo Blank
PhD
Occupational and Environmental Epidemiology
Student Photo Blank
MPH
Expected Graduation: May 2018
Occupational and Environmental Epidemiology

Occupational Health Nursing

Name
Degree Sought
Research / Professional Interests
Student Photo Blank
Allen, Patrick
pjall@umich.edu
MSN
Expected Graduation: May 2019
Environmental Hazards in the Workplace
Barhoumeh, Julia
jbarhoum@umich.edu
MSN
Expected Graduation: April 2017
Environmental and Occupational Exposure, Disaster Preparedness, Workplace Safety
Student Photo Blank
David, Ryleigh
ryldavid@umich.edu
MSN
Expected Graduation: May 2019
Occupational Health Nursing
Englert, Heather
henglert@umich.edu
MSN
Expected Graduation: May 2018
Occupational Health Nursing, Workplace Injury Prevention, Health Promotion for Undeserved Populations
Haberkorn, Elizabeth
emhaberk@umich.edu
MSN
Expected Graduation: December 2017
Occupational Health Nursing
Emily Keenan
Keenan, Emily
edkeenan@umich.edu
MSN
Expected Graduation: April 2017
Worker Education, Safety and Personal Health Promotion Programs, Occupational Health Nursing
Student Photo Blank
MacGowan, Alexandra
amacgowa@umich.edu
MSN
Expected Graduation: May 2019
Workplace Education Focused on Hazardous Material Exposure, Employee Health and Wellness
Mary Mathews
Mathews, Mary
mgmath@umich.edu
MSN
Expected Graduation: April 2017
Occupational Health Nursing, Nurse Exposure to Chemotherapy During Administration and Patient Care
Student Photo Blank
Parrish, Adina
adinap@umich.edu
MSN
Expected Graduation: May 2019
Reaching people before they come into a clinic to provide preventative care and education. The workplace setting is a great way to reach people.
Student Photo Blank
Pryser, Emma
empryser@umich.edu
MSN
Expected Graduation: December 2017
Occupational Disease & Injury, Emergency Preparedness & Response
Jordan Rimsa
Rimsa, Jordan
jrimsa@umich.edu
MSN
Expected Graduation: May 2018
Environmental Hazards and Exposure, Personal Protective Equipment Use, Occupational Health nursing
Jessica Simms
Roberts, Jessica
simmsj@umich.edu
MSN
Expected Graduation: April 2017
Environmental Health and Emergency Preparedness/Disaster Planning, Occupational Health Nursing
Kristina Sangalang
Sangalang, Kristina
sangalan@umich.edu
MSN
Expected Graduation: May 2020
Occupational Health Nursing, Exposure to Chemotherapy in the Workplace
Frank Schaller
Schaller, Frank
fschalle@umich.edu
MSN
Expected Graduation: April 2017
Total Worker Health, Use of State-Level Public Health Surveillance Information, Preventing Work-Related Cardiovascular Disease, Preventing Sharps Injuries, Social Media/Technology
Erinn Smith
Smith, Erinn
erinnmar@umich.edu
MSN
Expected Graduation: April 2017
Under served populations, especially those in rural America
Ariana Spiewak
Spiewak, Ariana
anspiewa@umich.edu
MSN
Expected Graduation: April 2017
Occupational Health Nursing
Vayo, Victoria
vayov@umich.edu
MSN
Expected Graduation: May 2018
Occupational Health Nursing
Michelle Wood
Wood, Michelle
mpwood@umich.edu
MSN
Expected Graduation: April 2017
Occupational Health Nursing, Biological and Chemical Hazards, Ergonomics, Personal Protection Equipment

Occupational Safety Engineering and Ergonomics

 

Name
Degree Sought
Research / Professional Interests
Yadrianna Acosta-Sojo
Acosta-Sojo, Yadrianna
yacosta@umich.edu
PhD
Expected Graduation: May 2018
Human Factors, Physical Ergonomics, Occupational Biomechanics, Sensorimotor Human Performance. Currently investigating sensory and motor deficits in stroke patients. Specially, changes in upper limb activities.
http://cohse.umich.edu/wp-content/uploads/2016/09/Caminita.jpg
Caminita, Mia
mcaminit@umich.edu
MS
Expected Graduation: December 2017
Physical Ergonomics, Occupational Biomechanics, Human Factors, and Inclusive Design
Rosemarie Figueroa
PhD
Expected Graduation: May 2017
Safety Engineering, Forensic Consulting, Human Factors, Ergonomics and Biomechanics of the Upper Extremities
Student Photo Blank
Fu, Albert
qifu@umich.edu
PhD
OSE
Haney, Justin
haneyjm@umich.edu
PhD
Expected Graduation: May 2020
Human Factors and Physical ergonomics, Occupational Biomechanics, Modeling of Human Motion
Student Photo Blank
Jeong, Heejin
heejinj@umich.edu
PhD
OSE
Student Photo Blank
PhD
Expected Graduation: May 2019
Human Factors and Physical Ergonomics, Occupational Biomechanics, Digital Signal Processing
Student Photo Blank
PhD
OSE
Student Photo Blank
PhD
OSE
Student Photo Blank
Mao, Yanxun
myx@umich.edu
PhD
OSE
Student Photo Blank
Nona, Laith
lnona@umich.edu
MS
Expected Graduation: April 2018
Physical and Cognitive (HCI) Ergonomics, Safety Engineering, Discrete Optimization, Programming
Student Photo Blank
Wan, Yuzhi
wanyz@umich.edu
PhD
OSE

Interdisciplinary Research Training

 

Name
Degree Sought
Research / Professional Interests
Student Photo Blank
Forte, Chanese
chanese@umich.edu
PhD
Expected Graduation: April 2021
Environmental Toxicology, Cancer Epidemiology, and Occupational Health