Student Recognitions

Occupational Health Nursing

The Sally Lechlitner Lusk Award
The Sally Lechlitner Lusk Award was established to honor Professor Lusk who retired after thirty-four years of contributions to the School and The University. Dr. Lusk is a pioneer in research on worker health and safety, as well as in program development, specifically the off-campus RN to BSN programs, the Occupational Health Nursing masters and doctoral programs, and the On-Job-On-Campus masters degree program. This award is presented biennially at the time of graduation to the Outstanding Occupational Health Nursing student who demonstrates leadership and scholarly excellence.

Industrial Hygiene

The Warren A. Cook Award
The Warren A. Cook Award is typically awarded each year to a doctoral student, typically nearing the end of his/her dissertation research. It recognizes outstanding contributions to research in IH, and is named after the first IH faculty member, Dr. Warren Cook. It provides a modest monetary award and inclusion on a commemorative plaque.

  • 2016 Recipient: Benjamin Roberts, ’18
    • 2015 Recipient: Johnathan Bryant-Genevier, ’15
    • 2014 Recipient: Mazhgon Rajaee
    • 2013 Recipient: Gamola Fortenberry, ’13
    • 2012 Recipient: Thitiporn Sukaew, ’13

The Robin Theeuwes Memorial Award
The Robin Theeuwes Memorial Award is a very special award because the recipient is selected by the current class of students. It was established shortly after the untimely death of Robin Theeuwes from cancer between her first and second years of study. It is given each year to a second-year IH student. Selection for this award means that the student has earned the highest respect and is recognized for great strength of character. Names of the awardees are maintained on a commemorative plaque.

The Michigan Industrial Hygiene Society Award
The Michigan Industrial Hygiene Society Award is given each year to an outstanding second-year IH student, selected by the faculty on the bases on academic performance, leadership potential, and promise for a successful career in IH. A plaque and gift are provided by MIHS for students selected each year from Michigan and other regional universities with IH programs. The names of the UM awardees are also placed on a commemorative plaque maintained outside of the IH Program offices.

The AIHF Ralph G. Smith Memorial Scholarship
The AIHF Ralph G. Smith Scholarship is typically awarded to an outstanding first-year IH student that is expected to do very well in IH studies and in their professional careers. The award is named in memory of Dr. Ralph Smith, a highly distinguished leader in IH and former member of the program faculty. Each year, a stipend of $6,000 is provided by the American Industrial Hygiene Foundation from an endowed fund that was established from donations made by friends and former students of Dr. Smith. Names are maintained on a commemorative plaque.

  • 2014 Recipient: Walter Aksent, ’15
  • 2013 Recipient: Emily Yu, ’14
  • 2012 Recipient: Kendra Broadwater, ’13